An anthropologist in the library

Yesterday I discussed Susan Gibbons’ book on academic libraries and ‘net gen’ students, and briefly mentioned an innovative project run by her library (University of Rochester). The library hired an anthropologist to work with students, to understand exactly what their needs are, and how they go about studying and writing research papers.

Susan got in touch to tell me that the study had been published; available for purchase for $28, or for download for free, from here.

I’ve downloaded it, and I’m really looking forward to reading it. Obviously not everything will hold true for my students, but I’m sure I can learn something about how I can try to understand their needs.

About simonchamberlain

New Zealand librarian and music fan, living in London.
This entry was posted in academic libraries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

