My big news: moving to the UK

I’m starting to get excited, because in less than two months my girlfriend and I will be in London and looking for work! We’ve been accepted under the Highly Skilled Migrant Programme, meaning we get a two-year work permit, and we can easily extend it if we want.

We’ll be based in London, at least at first, though we’re considering looking at other cities.

Any words of advice or introductions to prospective employers would be gratefully received.

We’ve both already lived in London, in my case for four years from 1997-2001, so we don’t need too much information about the city. I’ve previously worked in a special library in London, and she worked in a public library, so we have some idea about how things work.

I’m looking for a reference position, possibly in a law firm or other corporate library, possibly in an academic library. Ideally, I’d like a position where I could follow my interests in new(ish) technologies and current awareness. I’m also interested in anything with a CI (Competitive Intelligence) element, where I’d be doing more analysis, not just information gathering or showing people how to use databases.

Wish us luck, anyway.

About simonchamberlain

New Zealand librarian and music fan, living in London.
This entry was posted in Simon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My big news: moving to the UK

  1. Phil Bradley says:

    Exciting news indeed. Feel free to drop me an email if you want to meet up at some point.

  2. Bridget says:

    Hey Simon, good luck with the move (back) to London! Doing any travelling on the way?

  3. Simon Chamberlain says:

    Hi Phil, that sounds great. I’ll definitely email you once we’re over there.

    Hi Bridget: not on the way there – the plan is to do as much traveling as possible, based in London. I’d like to do a lot of traveling on the way back, maybe take 3 months or so getting home.

Leave a Reply

